Review: Foul is Fair

Foul is Fair is the first book in the Fair Folk Chronicles by Jeffery Cook and Katherine Perkins. I would describe the book as a YA modern fairy tale adventure.

The main characters are two sixteen year old girls, Lani and Megan. At the beginning of the story Megan is coping with some form of mental health or educational delay sort of issue by taking medication. Her friend Lani is very concerned about her and the way the medication is changing her.

Very quickly they are swept up into events that spiral completely out of control and the reader is introduced to the realm of Fairy. There is a lot of information in this book but the uniqueness of the characters and the fast paced action keeps the book from feeling like a data dump. I don’t think I could pick a favourite character, there were so many wonderful ones!

The authors use some familiar fairy characters, like the Huntsman and his hounds, pixies, satyrs, and such, but also introduced some that I wasn’t familiar with. They created a world that is vibrant and interesting and completely captivating. So much happens in this book and I feel like I can’t summarize any of it without giving something away.

I will say that it was refreshing to read about two sixteen year old girls and not have any of the usual drama or self-pity or whiny attitudes.

The story was quick and fun and super fast paced. I enjoyed every minute of it. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and I cannot wait to read book 2.

Leave a Reply

