Charlotte’s Rescue is a contemporary literary fiction novel written by Violet Moore. It can be found on Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/Charlottes-Rescue-Violet-Moore-ebook/dp/B00G80RFMC/ (NOTE I do not receive any money from the sale of these books)

Charlotte’s Rescue is one of the books we read at our book club. It is the first in a series of four (Charlotte on the Run, Charlotte’s Nemesis, Charlotte’s Reward). Charlotte’s Rescue begins with Charlotte’s birth and continues until she is 18 or 19 years old. Told in 3rd person we first get the view point of Charlotte’s mom, then Charlotte herself as she gets older.

Charlotte is a very good girl. So good in fact that I found her a little unbelievable. I know there are genuinely good people in the world but Charlotte rarely has those internal moments of conflict, the “I could slap him – no, you have to be nice. Deep breath, let it go” sort of thing. I found the other characters in the book more fleshed out and easier to connect with.

That small complaint aside the book is an easy read, very uplifting and overall light-hearted. What added to the reading pleasure for me was that it was set in the same small city where we have our book club, Steinbach, MB. If you enjoy books that are set in real places, where characters attend read schools and shop at read stores and eat at real restaurants then this book is for you. If you like reading about the early 90s, those years before cellphones and internet, a story set in a peaceful small town where people really care about each other, then this book is for you.

Just because this book is about real, average people doesn’t mean it’s boring. There is still conflict and tension but it is the sort that we can all identify with. I’ve never had to face a dragon but I’ve struggled to pay the bills. I think I’d rather face the dragon.

Violet does a beautiful job of capturing the joy and innocence of youth and the idyllic qualities of small town life.

I gave this book 4 stars and I am looking forward to finishing the series.

