The One Taken from the Sea of Stars is a science fiction novel by Octavia Davis and is available on Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/One-Taken-Sea-Stars-ebook/dp/B01KQX5KGY/ (NOTE: I do not receive any royalties or kickbacks from the purchase of this book)

The One Take from the Sea of Stars stars strong. You’re thrown into a beautiful, fantastical world of rituals and warriors and sacred trees. The first two characters you meet don’t like each other. You have tension, vivid settings, and interesting characters without the boring info dump. You know enough of what is going on to get your bearings and you know the rest will come with the story.

And then in chapter 2 you’re somewhere else with other characters in a completely different cultural setting and your head is spinning. Sometimes this disconnect can turn me right off of a story but the writing was so good that I stuck with this one. You start to get hints in chapter 2 and 3 that chapter 1 really is connected and that promise of more information kept me reading until 4 and 5 when the “ah ha” moment hits.

The story is beautifully crafted with amazing pacing. By chapter 5 or 6 I was hoping this was book 1 in a longer set and I was not disappointed. I wanted it to be so much longer than the page count and now I have more books to look forward to.

And I am looking forward to them. The dialogue was natural. The character introductions were smooth. Everyone feels distinct and you recognize them on the page easily. The plot is compelling and full of tension and mystery.

I gave this book 5 stars and I am eagerly awaiting the sequel.

