Religion; Hatred; Tolerance; Part 4

This is part 4 of a longer series.

To read part 1

To read part 2

To read part 3

Sundays

While we’re on the subject of other religions, let’s look at Sunday. For a long time in most places in North America, everything closed down on Sundays. Even now, most stores are opened shorter hours on Sundays.

Christianity is still a major religion in North America, and Sunday is its holy day, so the choice to close on Sundays, or be open shorter hours, makes some sense. First, not all your staff will be available to work. And, theoretically, none of the Christians will come to shop. So you’re short staffed and you’ll be doing less business. Being open too many hours will lose you money, and businesses hate losing money.

BUT people do shop on Sundays. Christians do shop on Sundays. Because it’s convenient. When are you going to buy the kids new shoes? They’ve got school all week and extra curricular activities and birthday parties and on and on … oh, let’s just go out after church on Sunday and get it done.

I’ve worked Sundays. I always told my employer I needed to go to mass in the morning, but once I was done mass and brunch I could work. I was a student. I needed the money.

Now, the reason Sundays confuse me is because of choice. If you want to keep the Sabbath, you go right ahead. Don’t work. Don’t shop. Go to church, visit family, pray, meditate, celebrate life, that is your choice. For people who don’t follow Christianity, Sunday is a good day to earn some extra money, or get some errands done. My husband works shift work – his weekend is Thursday/Friday, Sunday is just another work day for him.

Oh, and Sunday isn’t actually the Sabbath, just to be clear. The Sabbath is the 7th day – Saturday, and Jews still keep the Sabbath. So do 7th day Adventists. What Christians celebrate is the Resurrection, which took place the day after the Sabbath. (Check the Bible, it’s in there, I promise). However, the idea of keeping a day holy, to pray and rest and be at peace with family and your god, is more important than whether it’s on Saturday or Sunday.

But we don’t shut everything down on Saturday for Sabbath. We just assume that Jews won’t work and won’t shop. They’ll just go keep the Sabbath.

So if you’re against shopping and working on Sunday – stay home. If you’re against shopping and working on Saturday – stay home. (And my friend Andy is going “Everyday’s a holiday! I don’t feel like working today! Stay home!” That’s not what I mean Andy.)

What I mean is that if your religious obligations require you to take that day of rest, then rest. Stay out of your tractors too. Because where I live the Christians (especially the Mennonites) refuse to allow stores in the area to open on Sunday. They scream and fuss and boycott until the store closes for Sunday again. Of course they do go out and work their fields on Sundays. And I’ve seen them shopping in the city on Sundays. And that type of hypocrisy drives me crazy.

Worship in your own way. Don’t hurt anyone. And stop making such a big deal out of Sunday.

Leave a Reply

