To the Well-Intentioned but Ignorant Parents of Teenagers.

My kids are 4 and 6. I work with kids aged 2-12. But I worked with teens for a long while. I have teenaged cousins. This is a scary reality.

Kayla Nicole's Blog

I’ve been mulling over this topic for quite some time, but this morning it became increasingly clear to me that I must say something. Folks, stranger danger is a real thing. And even more real today than it was ten years ago thanks to, you guessed it, the internet.

I speak specifically to the parents of kids old enough to be on social media. Of course, I am no such parent, but I am a teacher of those kids. I am also only 6-10 years older than the high school students I teach. Maybe that makes me unqualified to speak out, but maybe it makes me the most qualified candidate. Many of my colleagues and the parents of my students are old enough to be my own parents, so I tend to share a comaraderie with my students. And yet, I am far enough removed to be able to speak in ways that…

View original post 823 more words

Leave a Reply

