South East Manitoba Writers’ Seminar

Tomorrow I’m attending my first writing seminar! It is being hosted by Marianne Curtis and Alan Bayne.

Everyone has a story that needs to be told. This seminar is for writers in Manitoba who are unfamiliar with the world of book publishing. This is an inaugural publishing event by Manitoba authors, for local authors.

Co- Host: Allan P. Bayne (author) of print book – “Bugs, Sweat, and Fears”, Turnstone Press, (1999); e-book – “Wilderness Wanderings”, Snippet, (2014)

Co-Host: Marianne Curtis (print & e-book) owner of Emerald Publications; author of “Finding Gloria” (2012); Moondust and Madness: A collection of Poetry (2012); Behind Whispering Pines (2012); Brian’s Last Ride (2012) “Discreet Betrayal” (2014); and “Ray of Hope” (2014)

Other locally published authors who will participate in the Q & A times

there will be a a ‘books for sale’ table; includes publisher’s free ‘how to publish’ kits; door prizes, samples of other locally authored books

I’m really looking forward to meeting other local authors and I have a lot of questions about navigating the tax set-up on Amazon. As a perk I’ve been asked to talk about my blogging experience and how it’s helped advertise my writing. They’re interested in setting up a conference for local writers (or a convention? now I don’t know what’s going on, ah well) so the public can meet local writers, attend readings, buy books, get books signed, etc.

I’m hyped to be jumping on board from the start. This is a creative community that I’m looking forward to being a part of. I’ve printed business cards and advertisements for my digital releases. And we’ll have wi-fi so there will be much networking and swapping of contact info and such I’m sure.

Full update upon my return!

Leave a Reply

