One of Those Days

It’s 4:10 in the afternoon and my husband will be home in less than an hour. I can’t wait. I just want to turn off for the rest of the day.

You’ve had those days too, right? The kind of day where nothing works out, nothing goes the way you planned, and you just hate everyone you cross paths with? That’s the kind of day I’ve had.

I thought it was going to be a good day. My daughter slept in, which almost never happens. We got ready quickly because my son had a doctor’s appointment. Right on time the kids were getting into shoes and then it all goes downhill.

My keys aren’t on the hook. They must be in the pockets of the pants my husband wore to work because I can’t find them anywhere.

I call my gramma, maybe she can come by and I can borrow her car. While she goes to double check plans with my grandpa I keep searching and come up with a spare key. I call her back and then off we go – now 15 minutes late.

I take what is supposed to be a nice, direct route into the city – and get stopped by construction. Not delayed. Not slowed down. STOPPED. FOR 20 MINUTES.

I’m screaming and banging the wheel and generally not coping well as the minutes tick away. I finally get out of my car walk the length of the line up and ask how long we’re going to be stuck there. As the Pilot car is ready to lead us off. Great. Now I have to run back, in a skirt and flip flops. Fun.

Now it is 10:40 and I was supposed to be in the doctor’s office by 10:30. And we finally start moving.

The car in front of me won’t do the speed limit and follows four car lengths behind the vehicle in front of them so every car turning onto the road gets to be in front of me.

Two turns before the doctor’s office my signal lights stop working.

I get to the doctor’s office but now have to wait because I’ve missed my appointment time. My daughter peed her pants in the car because we were stuck in traffic and my son wet himself in the waiting room AFTER I asked if he had to pee.

After the appointment my car wouldn’t start. Luckily I knew what the problem was (a loose fuse) and how to fix it. We went on to the restaurant where I might be meeting my sister-in-law for lunch – only I don’t have a cellphone and there’s no wifi at the restaurant so I can’t check my tablet to see if she replied to my earlier message on Facebook. So I spend $2 on the payphone to leave a message on her cell.

Lunch went well, but I skipped breakfast and gorged myself on lunch so I was nauseous all the way to my sister’s house. I grabbed some camping gear I had in storage there and we went home.

Oh, and my lunch date didn’t show and when I got home I found the message “We’ll be out and about, don’t know if we’ll make it.” I hate not having a cell phone. I don’t use it often but when I need it I NEED IT BADLY.

The kids went to the bathroom then down for a nap while I did my social media stuff. I tried writing but I’m just not in the right head space. I’m supposed to make stir-fry for supper but we’re having pizza because I just can’t muster up the energy to go chop veggies.

Now WordPress keeps telling me I have a new comment when I don’t, I’ve already read it three times, but it keeps showing up orange. Great.

It’s one of those days.
I hope your day was better.

Leave a Reply

