Camp Nanowrimo Check In

Halfway through the month now and time for my second check in. In the last week I wrote two short stories – no where near as impressive as the 30k novella I wrote in the first week but still, I’m happy with it.

The first short was a 4k story about a dream demon. I submitted it to an anthology being put out by Horrified Press (you can find them here on Word Press). I’m still waiting on a reply. I’m nervous, I hate waiting, but the way I figure it is this: it’s been a week and still no rejection so they’re at least considering it, right?

The second short finished at just over 8k (well below the 10k cut off) and was written for an anthology being released by Fox Spirit Books, a small UK press. This is the apocalyptic story I had in mind. Once camp is over I’ll be doing an overview post on that post apocalyptic future I have in mind. The story is written and I’ve edited it and handed it over to my father who has a sharp eye for grammar and general narrative flow. I’m hoping to have it submitted before the end of the month.

So, what’s next? Well, Overhauled and From the Ground Up were nixed by the publisher so I had to find a new project: A 30k romance novella about dirt track race car drivers. I’m about 3k in and I have it all outlined. There were a few slow days there but since I’m at 52k I think I should be able to hit 80k by the end of the month. This novella will probably take me until the 28th to write, and then I’ll have three days to pack before moving into my first house.

I’ll check in one last time when my word count is met. To my fellow campers: KEEP WRITING!!

Signing off …

(PS, has anyone ever counted how many words ALL Nano campers wrote in a single month? I’d love to see how many millions of words were put to paper in a month by a lot of crazy novelists)

Leave a Reply

