The Way the Muse Turns

Okay, July 8th, just a day over the first week of Nano and what a start to the month it’s been. My original goal was to write 50,000 words in 31 days. The first 30k were to be a romance novella, then a 10k short story, then two 4k shorts (48k) and then 2k on my next romance novella.

Well, my muse has run away with me. I’ve completely abandoned the 4k shorts. I’ve decided they aren’t suitable for the contest I wanted to put them in and I’m not interested in writing them right now. I’ve put the 10k story on the backburner and replaced it with a different 10k short. And I’ve upped my word goal to 80,000 words in 31 days.

So where am I going to make up those last 60k? I’m going to write two more romance novellas. I wrote one back in May. (Off the Market is available on Amazon for about a dollar) and I had planned to write two more, following the MC’s two younger siblings. The publisher didn’t need anything in that sub-genre so I wrote my camp project, Liar Liar, which has just been sent off.

Yeah, you’re reading that right. 30k in 8 days. A new record and the reason I’m upping my word goal to match. With that out of the way I plan to write those two proposed romance novellas and store them until the publisher wants them. Then I’m going to write my short story.

Instead of a short story about a girl in an apocalyptic situation I’m writing one about a dream demon at the beginning of the world. Very excited and looking forward to entering it for consideration in an anthology.

But it’s getting close to bed time for my two little distractions, and I’m rewarding myself with junk food and a movie tonight. Tomorrow my husband is giving me 8 hours to sit at the library and write. And I plan to write 5k on a romance novella and 5k on my short.

I’ll check in at the next milestone!

Signing off…

Leave a Reply

