*Title quoted from “The Point”, a wonderful movie narrated by Ringo Starr*

So what is the point, anyways? Of this blog, I mean. After all this is only my second post and too early to be asking you the meaning of life (which is 42), I hardly know you, yet. Back to the matter at hand – the point of this blog. Well, it’s so you, the readers, can get to know me, the writer, and keep up-to-date on my available books, and so I can share tricks of the trade that I have learned along the road to writing my novels.

Every writer has tricks of the trade that work for them, and every writer is different. I think if more writers share how they work more young writers just learning to write will find ways that work for them a lot faster. When I was a younger, less experienced writer, I always wanted a published writer to mentor me, just for a little bit. I think we all search for that writer or editor that will mentor and guide us through the soul wrenching and overwhelming process that is ‘writing a novel’.

Sadly most writers and editors don’t have time for that sort of relationship. And if they did, well there are more of us looking for mentors than there are writers in a position of giving that sort of help. So, we’re all in this together. The blind leading the blind.

As well as stories, I have a lot of opinions about the writing world and, as the mood strikes me, I’ll share those too.

Today I will end with some advice.

1) Back up your work once a week. Or more. Trust me on this. I was aiming for once a month and then, 8 days before back-up, my 18 month old drenched my laptop in juice. Thank God I didn’t lose any data and my laptop is fine now. Life is too short to make all the mistakes yourself so learn from mine. No computer or notebook is ever completely save from overheating, small children, animals, floods, being forgotten outside, being stepped on, or getting lost. So invest in the external hard drive or a stack of discs or a USB drive and back up every week.

2) When the big computer store where you bought your laptop takes one look at the juice smear on the keyboard and says “The liquid has gotten into the boards. It will cost $300-$400 to repair, and at least a month because we will have to replace parts. And it’s not covered by your warranty,” tell them thanks but no thanks and find a small, locally owned repair shop. They’ll at least open it up and tell you if it can be saved before telling you it’ll cost $400. And, if you’re lucky (like I was) it’ll cost you $60 and two days. Because not even a professional techie can tell you if your motherboard is fried without opening the computer.

I have an editing contract to complete (it was due a while back but it took me a long time to work up the courage to take my laptop in for repairs) so I’d better get down to it.

Signing off …

